The 7th International Workshop on Optimal Network Topologies — July 11 - 15, 2016

Networks are part of our modern life. Transport and computer networks are examples of physical networks that we use every day; social networks such as Facebook are instances of nonmaterial networks. The mathematics subject underlying the theory of networks is graph theory, which is a young but rapidly maturing area of increasing importance. In many application domains, it is essential to construct networks that are optimal in terms of some given measure. For example, a network design problem that has enormous impact to many fields is to construct families of Ramanujan graphs, which are sparse but extremely well connected graphs with increasing orders. Another important problem that attracted many mathematicians and computer scientists is the one of finding the largest order of networks with a given maximum degree and diameter and construct such networks whenever possible.

To promote research on optimal network topologies, the International Workshop on Optimal Network Topologies (IWONT) was set up in 2005. So far six editions of IWONT have been held in Australia, Czech Republic, Spain, Belgium, Indonesia and Slovakia, respectively.

The purpose of IWONT 2016 is to provide a forum for leading mathematicians in the area of optimal network topologies to exchange their ideas, communicate the latest results and develop further collaborations. Topics of the workshop include but are not limited to:

degree-diameter problem
connectivity and reliability of networks
cycles and factors in graphs
construction techniques for large graphs and digraphs
structural properties of large graphs and digraphs
spectral techniques in graph theory
network design problems from communication


Yan-Quan FengBeijing Jiaotong University
Rong-Xia HaoBeijing Jiaotong University
Mei LuTsinghua University
Charl RasUniversity of Melbourne, Australia
Joe RyanUniversity of Newcastle, Australia
Sanming ZhouUniversity of Melbourne, Australia

Scientific Committee

Edy Tri BaskoroInstitut Teknologi Bandung (ITB), Indonesia
Mirka MillerUniversity of Newcastle, Australia
Oriol SerraUniversity Polytecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Jozef SiranOpen University, UK
Sanming ZhouUniversity of Melbourne, Australia