2018 New World Mathematics Awards Initiates


The application for the 2018 New World Mathematics Awards (NWMA) has been fully launched on April 1, 2018. In 2007, Professor Yau Shing-Tung, the outstanding mathematician and Dr Henry Cheng, Chairman and Executive Director of the New World Development Company Limited co-initiated this award. The goal of this program is to encourage outstanding Chinese mathematics students worldwide in their pursuit of mathematical research.




The agenda of 2018 NWMA
This program is open to all undergraduate, master and PhD mathematics students of Chinese descendants, anywhere in the world.
The submitted thesis must be successfully defended and accepted by students who have graduated in 2017 and 2018. Students have to prepare to provide proof of defense of thesis.
The topics of thesis can be pure mathematics, applied mathematics, probability and statistics, biomathematics, etc.


Application :(April 1- September 30)
Each candidate should fill in the application form online and upload the thesis on the webpage of NWMA ( . Everyone is required tp provide a letter of recommendation by a senior mathematician (e.g. thesis or post-doc advisor). The recommendation letter shall be directly sent to

Nomination:  (April 1- September 30)
Senior mathematicians (e.g. professors and associate professors) may nominate graduates of 2017 and 2018 as candidates to this award. To nominate, please send an e-mail to with the following information:
(a) the nominee's full name
(b) nominee's current e-mail address
(c) one recommendation letter

Selection: (October 1- November 30)
All submissions are subjected to two rounds of review: A scientific committee chaired by Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, and then an international committee chaired by Professor Shing-Tung Yau. Members of this committee are all world-renowned mathematicians. The results will be announced around December 2018.

About the Awards

The selection of NWMA is conducted once a year, but the Ceremony is held every three years. The Ceremony 2019 aims to award the winner of NWMA 2017, 2018 and 2019. The awardees have to be present at the NWMA award ceremony to claim the cash prize and to retain the title of an award. It will be hosted in Beijing in July, 2019.



When Dr. Henry Cheng and I initiated this project, our goal was to do more than just honor the best Chinese mathematics students’ thesis at the undergraduate, master, or PhD level.  We hope that this honor will not only acknowledge some of the best student achievements, but that it will also encourage these outstanding scholars to excel beyond what they have already accomplished.

 Prof. Shing-Tung Yau


With the strong support of New World Development Company Limited and China Young Leaders Foundation, NWMA has hosted four award ceremonies in Hangzhou (2007) , Beijing (2010), Taipei (2013), Beijing (2016) respectively. The award attracts Chinese mathematics students to submit a host of research papers of the highest standards, covering diversified areas like fundamental mathematics, applied mathematics, probability statistics, biomathematics and others.
As of today, more than 1,000 students from 160 universities around the world have signed up for the award, and a total of 146 Chinese students from different fields of mathematics have achieved awards, all are brilliant scholars with outstanding research results. Most of the awardees have already furthered their studies at renowned universities globally, or have become experts in different areas of mathematics. Some have also been invited by higher education institutions in Mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan to serve as senior researchers. Si Li, Peng Shan and Hao Wu, the gold award winners in the previous competitions, have been appointed by YMSC as tenured professor.