Chern Prize

Chern Prize (陈省身奖)

The Chern Prize in mathematics was established in 2001 in honor of Professor Shing-Shen Chern, one of the greatest geometers and Chinese mathematicians of the twentieth century. The Chern Prize is presented every three years to mathematicians of Chinese descent who have made exceptional contributions to mathematical research or to public service activities in support of mathematics.


2007 Chern Prize
Shiu-Yuen Cheng
Professor Cheng is awarded the 2007 Chern Prize for his fundamental contributions to the geometric study of eigenfunctions and eigenvalues of Laplacian, which has extensive application in geometric understanding of manifolds. In addition to being a leader in geometric analysis, he also taught and mentored numerous mathematicians in China. Many of these students went to the United States for further study and subsequently became leaders in their field. Professor Cheng is currently Dean of Science at The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.
Mu-Tao Wang
Professor Wang is awarded the 2007 Chern Prize for his research on geometric partial differential equations and general relativity, including higher codimensional mean curvature flow, problems related to higher codimensional minimal submanifold and superrigidity theorem for representations of certain discrete groups. Professor Wang is currently a Professor of Mathematics at Columbia University
2004 Chern Prize
Fanghua Lin
Professor Fang was awarded the 2004 Chern Prize for his work on the theory of liquid crystals, harmonic maps, Ginzburg-Landau equations, the static as well as dynamic theory of topological defects, Skyrme and Faddeev models, and the Navier-Stokes equations. He is a Professor of Mathematics at New York University.
Lo Yang
Professor Yang was awarded the 2004 Chern Prize for his dedication to the development of mathematics in China and for his role in promoting mathematical activities and endeavors over the past twenty years. He is the Founding Director of the Academy of Mathematics and Systems Sciences and Deputy Director of the Morningside Center of Mathematics.
2001 Chern Prize
Song-Sun Lin
Professor Lin was awarded the 2001 Chern Prize for his distinguished contributions to the development of nonlinear partial differential equations and dynamical systems. He is a Chair Professor of Applied Mathematics at Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
Jiu-Kang Yu
Professor Yu was awarded the 2001 Chern Prize for his important contributions to number theory, algebraic geometry, and representation theory. He is a Professor of Mathematics at Purdue University.